Empty Promises

ImageThis is the face I make when I hear another empty promise from my Ex. I know I should be past it by now. But seriously people, I am only human!

I am past the “I’ll call them tomorrow” kind of promises. I’m past the “I had this idea…” conversations that lead to no where. It’s the empty promises that the kids hold on to with every ounce of their being that leads me to make that face.

This past summer…6 months ago…the Ex felt bad about not being able to see them as much as he wanted. He did just get a job afterall—after 1.5 years of unemployment spent NOT looking for a job. I digress. And without a license (which was revoked) he couldn’t drive the 300 miles to see them.

So what does he do? He decides to dangle a golden, candy-filled carrot in front of them to ensure they will not lose faith in him. Because buying love beats following through with things and earning their faith.

“I’m sorry I can’t (insert last promise) like I said we would do. But I had this idea. I’m going to rent a RV next year when I get my license back. And we are going to spend the summer driving from one amusement park to another. How does that sound?”

I can’t make this stuff up people. I cannot go 2 weeks without hearing about this from one of the kids. And if I were them, I would do the same thing. I truly cannot wait to pick up the pieces of their shattered minds next year when this promise doesn’t pan out (yes, that is sarcasm). And it won’t.

((sigh))

Leave a Reply

