House Rules

The other day I instituted House Rules again. It’s been a few years.

House Rules

House Rules

The kids and I sat down and decided together what the rules should be, and what the consequences would be for breaking them. There were a lot of laughs, and jokes, and ridiculous suggestions: consequence #1, no pants. #2, no talking, #3, someone farts on you…

In the end we came up with a good list and reasonable punishments. But in the middle of writing them out the boy throws a toy across the room (Rule #3) and he eagerly asked, “Do I have to do a 10-minute Timeout now?”

I explained, no, we are still writing the rules.

Later on, after we taped them up and signed them the boy comes back to me, asking, “Do I have to do my timeout now?”

I was puzzled. “Do you want to do the timeout?”

He jumped up and down, “Yes Yes!”

This has got to be a first. Ever.

Leave a Reply

